Skip to main content
Variable Dimensions - Artists and Architecture
Small Description
Curators: Gregory Lang and Inês Grosso
Variable Dimensions, Artists and Architecture
Variable Dimensions, Artists and Architecture

"Variable dimensions" is a descriptive term commonly used in captions of artworks, especially in the field of contemporary art, but rarely used in the field of architecture, where dimensions are used for construction and hence naturally pre-defined. This exhibit suggested a fresh look on this difference and reinvents dialogues around the relationship between artists and architecture.


Organised by core subjects, it covered topics such as the relationship between contemporary cities and architecture, the virtualisation of urban social relations, different aspects of living and discussions on the home and domestic space, architectural and modernist utopias, and, lastly, works that are directly related to ideas of scale, size and measuring instruments and systems. It showcased historical and contemporary works by artists from different generations and nationalities side by side, whose artwork promotes the discussion on topics that expand or narrow the relationship between art and architecture.


The exhibit stemmed from the publication Artists and Architecture: Variable Dimensions, published by the Pavillon de l’Arsenal, in Paris, 2015.




Absalon, Saâdane Afif, Francis Alÿs, Nazgol Ansarinia, Giovanni Anselmo, Juan Araujo, Farah Atassi, John Baldessari, Thomas Bayrle, Pierre Besson, Julien Bismuth, Mel Bochner, Nathalie Brevet_Hughes Rochette, stanley brouwn, Carlos Bunga, Pedro Cabrita Reis, James Casebere, David Claerbout, Abraham Cruzvillegas, Thomas Demand, Denicolai & Provoost, Peter Downsbrough, Olafur
Eliasson, Cevdet Erek, Larissa Fassler, Hans-Peter Feldmann, Jean-Pascal Flavien, Zachary Formwalt, Peter Friedl, Carlos Garaicoa, Isa Genzken, Liam Gillick, Dan Graham, Pierre Huyghe, Bertrand Lamarche, Gordon Matta-Clark, Rita McBride, Jorge Méndez Blake, Matt Mullican, Bruce Nauman, Olaf Nicolai, Daniela Ortiz, Alexandre Périgot, Charlotte Posenenske, Evariste Richer, Thomas Ruff, Ed Ruscha, Julião Sarmento, Rirkrit Tiravanija, Rui Toscano, Lawrence Weiner, Erwin Wurm.

MAAT Central
MAAT Central
Indicates required field
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
I declare that I am aware of the privacy policy and agree that my personal data will be collected by the EDP Foundation and processed for each of the purposes I have indicated.