EDP Foundation New Artists Award 2022 

Luís Silva, Luísa Santos and Sara Antónia Matos

EDP Foundation New Artists Award 2022 
14th edition

Adriana Proganó, Andreia Santana, Bruno Zhu, Maria Trabulo, René Tavares and Rita Ferreira are the EDP Foundation New Artists Award finalists. The artists participate in a collective exhibition to be held at maat in October 2022, when the winner will be selected. 

The more than 700 submissions to this 14th edition of the award were reviewed by a Selection Panel of Judges made up of curators Luís Silva, Luísa Santos and Sara Antónia Matos, who will also be responsible for curating the collective exhibition. Curators Luís Silva, Luísa Santos and Sara Antónia Matos “were able to witness the great merit and work capacity of artists in Portugal”. Although age is not one of the selection criteria, “there was an emphasis on a generation of artists under 40 who are currently carving their way, thanks to the conceptual and formal quality of their work, within both the national and international artistic production scenes. Despite very different formal, material and narrative premises, the research work conducted by all the nominees reveals some fundamental thinking about our place and our agency in contemporary societies”, the curators added.

Established in 2000, the EDP Foundation’s New Artists Award is recognised as one of the most significant art awards in Portugal. Since its first iteration, it has recognised Joana Vasconcelos, Leonor Antunes, Vasco Araújo, Carlos Bunga, João Maria Gusmão & Pedro Paiva, João Leonardo, André Romão, Gabriel Abrantes, Priscila Fernandes, Ana Santos, Mariana Silva, Claire de Santa Coloma and Diana Policarpo. With growing relevance, over the last two decades, the New Artists Award have featured dozens of artists, mapping the trajectory of successive generations within the Portuguese art world.

The winner of the 2022 EDP Foundation New Artists Award will be selected by an international jury during the period of the exhibition.

With the support: